Weldon Irvine – The Sisters (MP3)


Keyboardist and composer Weldon Irvine is among the most celebrated Jazz-Funk artists of all time. He was Nina Simone’s bandleader for years, and wrote the lyrics for her iconic civil rights anthem “To Be Young, Gifted and Black”. Throughout the 1970s, Irvine released a series of seminal albums full of deep, soulful, funky grooves.  The Sisters is a collection of lost tracks and demos from his late-1970s studio sessions with fellow Jazz-Funk luminary Don Blackman.  Featuring the single “Morning Sunrise” (later sampled on Jay-Z’s “Dear Summer”), the album contains a mix of instrumental and vocal tracks from an artist who consistently delivered incredible music.

1. The Sisters
2. Nursery Rhyme Song
3. Think I’ll Stay A While
4. Misty Dawn
5. Morning Sunrise
6. Shopping
7. It’s Funky
8. Sexy Eyes
9. Egypt
10. Heard It All Before
11. Blue In Green