Ayatollah – Fingertips (MP3)


Since making his name producing tracks for hip-hop icons like Mos Def, Pharoahe Monch, Sean Price, Rakim, Smif N Wessun, Ghostface Killah, and Talib Kweli, New York beatsmith Ayatollah has turned his attention to music without vocals. “I get peace of mind from doing instrumental albums,” explains Tollah. “There’s no words to lead you in any one direction. I like the freedom of it.” His latest instrumental offering Fingetips reflects the gritty sound the producer has become known for. Horns blare, drums pound, basslines rumble, and vocal snippets drift in and out. Ayatollah still uses the Akai MPC 60, meaning the music did in fact come straight from the tips of some famously dusty fingers.

1. The Entrance
2. Some Superfly Shit
3. Brotherly Love
4. Change
5. The Battle
6. Listen To This
7. It Came From His Fingertips
8. Atlantis
9. Waiting For A Miracle
10. Nod Your Head
11. I Am What I Am
12. Funky Fresh
13. A Penny For Your Thoughts
14. Black
15. Taking A Walk
16. Illmatic
17. Nothing But The Best
18. Plain As Day
19. Could It Be Him
20. Relaxation